Student Council

What is Student Council?

Student Council provides any student with the opportunity to try to influence the policy, priorities and activities of the Students’ Union.  It is made up of up to 26 students, including the full-time and part-time elected officers and additional elected Student Councillors representing a range of student groups and interests.

Ideas from students are discussed and debated by Student Councillors, who then vote on whether to approve these proposals and ideas. While any student can submit ideas, proposals and motions, it is only the elected members of Student Council who can vote. These decisions give direction to the Executive Committee and shape the activities of the elected officers.  Student Council holds all of the elected officers to account.  Student Council also has the authority to expel students from membership of the SU, call a referendum and remove trustees.  It also has responsibility for the election of student trustees, the policy of the SU and (together with the trustees) making and amending the bye-laws.

Meetings are chaired by an independent, elected Chair who has responsibility for ensuring that discussions are conducted in an open, inclusive manner and that votes are properly taken and recorded. The elected chair for this year is Ian Mackey

Student Council meetings 2016-17

Any student is welcome to attend Student Council, which will meet from 17:15 on the following dates during the remainder of this academic year:

Dates for 2017-18 will be published during August 2017.

How to Submit a Policy Motion

If you would like to submit a policy motion please submit this form to t.hewesbelton@worc.ac.uk by the following deadlines:

Deadlines for 2017-18 will be published during August 2017.

Student Council membership 2016-17

President

Jade Haley

jade.haley@worc.ac.uk 

Vice President Education

James Gunther

j.gunther@worc.ac.uk

Vice President Student Activities

Hemaka Pathiranage

h.pathiranage@worc.ac.uk

International Students’ Officer

Janna-Carla Niemi

suinternational@uni.worc.ac.uk

SU Society Rep (academic)

Carwen Davies

davc2_15@uni.worc.ac.uk

SU Society Rep (general interest)

Matt Sargeant

sarm1_13@uni.worc.ac.uk

SU Sports Rep (BUCS sports)

Euan Morrison

more3_14@uni.worc.ac.uk

SU Sports Rep (non-BUCS sports)

Vacancy

 

LGBT+ Officer

Alexandra Wells

sulgbt@uni.worc.ac.uk

Mature Students’ Officer

Olga Steikunas

sumature@uni.worc.ac.uk

RAG Officer

Harry Lonsdale

surag@uni.worc.ac.uk

Student Disability Officer

Fran Storey

sudisability@uni.worc.ac.uk

Sustainability Officer

Kyle Harding

susustainability@uni.worc.ac.uk

Welfare Officer

Danny Gregory

suwelfare@uni.worc.ac.uk

Worcester Business School Rep

Vacancy

 

Minority Ethnic Officer

Vacancy

 

Women’s Officer

Tayla Elson

suwomens@uni.worc.ac.uk

Institute of Education Rep

Helen Chidler

chih1_15@uni.worc.ac.uk

Institute of Health and Society Rep

Lauren Parry

parl3_15@uni.worc.ac.uk

Institute of Humanities and Creative Arts Rep

Vacancy

 

Institute of Science and the Environment Rep

Vacancy

 

Institute of Sport and Exercise Science Rep

Vacancy

 

Postgraduate Rep

Verity Postlethwaite

v.postlethwaite@worc.ac.uk

City campus Rep

Vacancy

 

Rep for students living in University-managed accommodation

Vacancy

 

Rep for foundation degree/HND students

Vacancy

 

 

Twitter

21 Jun 2017 11:17